Cooking in italian – Thou shalt not put pineapple on your pizza!

I'm not pretty sure of what this is, but it looks kinda gross.

I’m not pretty sure of what this is, but it looks kinda gross.

Why do you study italian? “because I love Italy!”, “I like art”, “I like italian movies”, “my girlfriend is italian, and I’d like to know what she’s muttering on monday mornings”. But what about studying italian to understand 20 pages-long menus handed out in italian restaurants? Non turistic restaurants seldom have menus translated in english, and you’ll have to make an effort to understand a sweating waiter trying to explain in his poor english a complex dish, its ingredients, its flavour…

Read the full article on Kappa Language School’s website.

4 thoughts on “Cooking in italian – Thou shalt not put pineapple on your pizza!

  1. It actually looks very yummy. Just two remarks: your dough seems crusty and well cooked, but it resembles more the one we use for roman white pizza; secondly, using pimiento as a topping would seem a little extravagant to an Italian, even though it is indeed used in some very particular varieties of street pizza.

    Like

    • One day I have to get the family to Italy so I can see what we are missing! Your comment on the dough is difficult to understand because I am not familiar with the roman white pizza (or, really, with any authentic Italian pizza for that matter). Do you usually see a “cracker” crust, meaning it is crunchy? My dough comes out just a little crisp, but not like a cracker unless perhaps I bake it a little longer. I would describe the dough as chewy with a slight crisp.

      The pimiento was added just because I had it and I have been eating a lot of pizza lately, so I wanted some variety and color. I’ve also been adding roasted broccoli and cauliflower, sliced tomatoes, and garlic to change things up. But a simple cheese only pizza is hard to beat in my opinion.

      Like

Leave a Reply

