For all those traveling Expats

This is an article for all those expats who live in Italy. For if you have moved to another country, then I’m sure you all can understand the itch to keep traveling; because it doesn’t matter, young or old we all want to see the world. I’ve recently had an itch to go to Spain, and so I’ve started researching cheap ways to get around Europe, because I am a poor college student. All the companies that I researched are going to be compared on the cost of just transportation to Spain. So without further ado, here is what I have found, all the cheaper ways to get around Europe, at your convenience so you don’t have to spend hours researching like I did.

We are going to start with planes first because unlike boats or trains, they are the fastest way to get somewhere far away. Bear in mind that I have the freedom to go and come back when I choose so those of you with a lot of appointments or responsibilities might find that having to schedule specific dates might find these prices to be a bit higher than my research.

airlines_2512977bUp first, Ryanair. This flight company is actually pretty famous so you may have already heard of it, but it usually offers cheap flights just about anywhere in Europe and recently has improved their service. I choose a flight that would take me to Madrid, Spain on a Wednesday with a return to Rome on a Saturday and it cost €53.18. That, however, was just the flight. If you want to add bags, you add extra onto that. This site is nice because it is easy to use and you can not only get cars and hotels, but also transportation to a hotel and such.

Vueling is our next contender. I was able to plan a trip from Rome to Madrid and back again with three days there. This cost me a total of 87.53 but I believe this includes bags and such. It’s a fairly easy website to use, and while the cost might be a bit more, it’s definitely still cheap.

Air Berlin. This one is actually quite a lot more than the first two, and I was debating with myself if I should mention it at all. However, for those of you that might be here and actually have money to spend, this might be a nice alternative for a high priced plane ticket. The same trip that I planned for Vueling was 306.65 euros on Air Berlin for one adult to travel to Madrid for three days. Maybe the price difference is justified by a more comfortable ride over? I’m not sure because I haven’t taken this particular airline before.

cheap-flights-south-africa


While there are others, such as
EasyJet, Pegasus (this one only goes to Turkey and Greece apparently) German Wings (This one found me Ryanair flights), and Blue Express, and Air One. I had some trouble with Air One, but maybe my computer just doesn’t like that website. 😦

So there you have it folks, those are most of the cheaper airlines. If you know of any more, or want to comment about better prices, then please feel free! We would love to hear from you!

Read the original article on Kappa Language School’s website.

Leave a Reply

